The Best in Pinoy Films to be Honored at 36th Gawad Urian Awards

The night to honor and celebrate cinematic excellence is about to take place on June 18, as the highly-anticipated ceremony for the 36th Gawad Urian Awards is set to showcase tight competition among the past year’s most recognized films.

Gawad Urian

This year’s awards night will be hosted by some of the country’s most acclaimed stars, namely Richard Gomez, Cherie Gil, Butch Francisco, Iza Calzado and Xian Lim. They will be leading the crowd through the night’s list of nominees—adding to the excitement and curiosity of who will take the titles home.

Among the categories that are drawing attention is the Best Actress category, where the likes of Jodi Sta. Maria (Aparisyon), Nora Aunor (Thy Womb), Alessandra de Rossi (Baybayin), Assunta de Rossi (Baybayin), Gina Alajar (Mater Dolorosa), Ama Quiambao (Diablo), Sharmaine Centenera-Buencamino (ReQuieme), Olga Natividad (Mga Dayo) and Liza Dino (In Nomine Matris) are pitted against each other.

In the Best Actor category, Jericho Rosales (Alagwa), Coco Martin (Sta Nina), Eddie Garcia (Bwakaw), JM de Guzman (Intoy Shokoy), Nico Antonio (Posas), Kristoffer King (Oros), Dominic Roco (Ang Nawawala), Joem Bascon (Qwerty), Bembol Roco (Thy Womb), Adrian Sebastian (Baybayin), Thai actor Ananda Everingham (Kalayaan), Anthony Falcon (ReQuieme), and child actor Deuel Raynon Ladia (Anac ti Pating) go head-to-head as well in an intense competition.

Of course, the wait for the big reveal of the 36th Gawad Urian Awards’ Best Film will finally draw to a close—but not without tight competition, as “Thy Womb”, “Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim”, “Baybayin”, “Bwakaw”, “Colossal”, “Diablo”, “Mater Dolorosa”, “Oros”, and “Posas” all put forth their own kinds of uniquely well-crafted cinematic experiences.

Held in light of a partnership formed by the oldest film critics’ group in the country and the Philippines’ number one cable channel, the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino and Cinema One, this year’s Gawad Urian Awards will be a means to recognize progressive filmmaking, as well as emerging cinema talent. With a shared desire to move Philippine cinema forward, local entertainment circles and cinema enthusiasts alike are keen to bear witness to what is to take place.

Stay tuned for the winners’ big proclamation night happening at the NBC Tent, Bonifacio Global City, Taguig on June 18 at 6:00 p.m.

Catch the 36th Gawad Urian Awards night on television on Cinema One on June 22 at 3:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m., June 23 at 10:00 p.m., and June 26 at 7:00 p.m.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.